CKNS Awards

Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia presents three awards annually at the AGM. These awards are our way of recognizing members of the community who have made a major impact in the world of recreational paddling.

Steve Cook Volunteer of the Year Award

Steve's last paddle
The membership and members of the public will be invited to nominate individuals and groups for this award.
A letter explaining why the individual or group is worthy of the Steve Cook Volunteer of the Year Award must accompany each nomination.
All nominations must be received no later than one month prior to the annual General Meeting and can be submitted at any time through out the year.

An ad hoc committee will be established by the CKNS Executive to review all nominations and select the winning candidate.

document-iconAward application (MS Word Document)

Fred Lynch Award

Fred Lynch Award for contributions to canoeing or kayaking, emphasizing individuals who have approached paddling with a multi-faceted style of instruction.
document-icon Award application (MS Word document)

NS Waterways Stewardship Award

herbert River 2012 51 reduced
This award is given annually, at the discretion of the Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia (CKNS) board of directors, at the CKNS annual general meeting. Recipients of the award need not be members of CKNS. It is presented to an individual (or an organization) in recognition of a high degree of initiative and commitment in working towards the preservation of our province’s waterways.

document-icon Award application (MS Word document)