Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia Steve Cook Award

Steve Cook Volunteer Award

In recognition of a high commitment to the introduction and instruction of paddling techniques on our province’s waterways.

The membership and members of the public will be invited to nominate individuals and groups for this award. A letter explaining why the individual or group is worthy of the Steve Cook Volunteer of the Year Award must accompany each nomination. All nominations must be received no later than one month prior to the annual General Meeting and can be submitted at any time through out the year. An ad hoc committee will be established by the CKNS Executive to review all nominations and select the winning candidate. 

Award application

Award Winners

2020 - Dusan Soudek

2021 - no nominations received

2022 - Sarah Hrdlicka

Fred Lynch

Fred Lynch Contribution Award

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the overall sport and recreation of canoeing.

Fred Lynch Award for contributions to canoeing or kayaking, emphasizing individuals who have approached paddling with a multi-faceted style of instruction. More information on Fred can be found on the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame website. 

Award application

Award Winners

2020 - David Lewis

2021 - Bernie Levy

2022 - Karl Vollmer

Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia NS Waterways Stewardship Award
Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia NS Waterways Stewardship Award
Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia NS Waterways Stewardship Award

NS Waterways Stewardship Award

In recognition of dedicated work towards the preservation of sustainable access to the province’s waterways.

This award is given annually, at the discretion of the Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia (CKNS) board of directors, at the CKNS annual general meeting. Recipients of the award need not be members of CKNS. It is presented to an individual (or an organization) in recognition of a high degree of initiative and commitment in working towards the preservation of our province’s waterways.

Award application

Award Winners

2020 - Tristen Glen

2021 - Cathy McCarthy

2022 - Oliver Maass

Lifetime Contribution to Paddling

For the 2022 year, a special recognition was given for a Lifetime Contribution to Paddling.

2022 - Rod Lake

Interested in what's going on? Check out our Event Calendar!

View Calendar

Awards are presented annually at the Annual General Meeting.